top of page
  • Elise

The Bookshop on the Shore


Author: Jenny Colgan


Genre: Women's fiction (chick lit), contemporary, romance


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (4.5)


TW: self-harm and mentions of drug abuse/ overdose


This is book two in the Scottish Bookshop series by Jenny Colgan. In this book we follow Zoe, a single mother living in London desperate to escape before her living conditions get any worse; her opportunity comes in the form of a nanny job in the Scottish Highlands. The job requires caring of three "gifted children".


Does anyone know whether people in Scotland really use "absolutely" in 80% of their sentences? Because I absolutely heard the word "absolutely" way too many times LOL. But this book was absolutely heartwarming! (Do take note of the trigger warnings though) I really recommend the audiobook for this one! Mainly because of the voices for the kids as well as their accents really helped me to become more immersed in the story.


The first few chapters were kind of slow, but once things started picking up I found myself constantly wanting to pick this book up again. I really love the "kids hate nanny at first but slowly grow closer" trope (is there such a trope?) as well! I also really love the dynamic relationships between the children and how wholesome it was!! This book isn't perfect (given the slow start and some issues I had with the logic at times) but worth a read!

bottom of page