top of page
  • Elise

Shadow and Bone


Author: Leigh Bardugo


Genre: Fantasy, paranormal, romance, young adult


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ (3.75)


Read this because the show is coming out soon! Got spoiled a lot on booktwt of the darkling and mal so the surprise factor was less for me, but still thought it quite a good read!


I found it interesting that some of the world building was done via Alina learning the history via the library books and letting us know at the same time. I must say that in some parts the plot points flowed together quite conveniently, but especially from the second half onwards I kept wanting to read on.


I was also strangely reminded of 'Graceling' in some parts of this book I'm not sure why..



SPOILERS AHEAD. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.


I was quite confused with the darkling being a love interest? Like in the first half I thought he was okay but didn't really feel the chemistry between them then after it got revealed that he's the villain in the story I was like ok this makes more sense. On the other hand, while I loveeeee Mal as a character/ love interest (his speech ohmygod so soft), it felt a liiitle too rushed between Mal and Alina like I get they're childhood best friends and all but they were separated half the book then when they came back a few scenes later they were like so in love with each other again. This felt weird to me as a reader since Alina was first in love with Mal then when she was with the darkling she was attracted then when she was with Mal again her feelings were reignited so I'm not really convinced with the relationship. However, I understand that she's still a teenager inexperienced with relationships and feels lonely, so it is perfectly understandable. I do hope to see more of their relationship in the rest of the books though!!

bottom of page