top of page
  • Elise

Gone Girl - why was this popular? The reading slump continues..


Author: Gillian Flynn


Genres: Thriller, mystery, adult


Rating: ⭐⭐(1.75*)


Note: Please look up trigger warnings before deciding to read.


Sigh. I have been going through a reading slump over the past few months, which is also why I haven't updated in a while. The books that I have been reading recently haven't been helping me get over my reading slump, and Gone Girl is no exception.


On Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary, Amy disappears. Where did Amy go?


The chapters alternate between Nick and Amy's point of view, as well as Amy's diary entries.

This book was unnecessarily long, and nothing much happened. The twists were so ridiculous and the ending just left me feeling I wasted the past 13 days trying to read this. I still do not understand why this book was - or is - hyped. I don't read a lot of thriller books, so maybe this was just a personal thing, but nothing in Gone Girl impressed me. The reading slump continues....

bottom of page