top of page
  • Elise

Dreams of Gods and Monsters


Author: Laini Taylor


Genres: Fantasy, paranormal, young adult, romance


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐(4.5)


I'm finished with this series!!!


Hmm, this series is a little complicated. This last book is my favorite out of all three because I felt that unlike the previous two books, the pacing in this picked up much quicker. Especially in Days of Blood and Starlight, I almost DNF-ed the series because I was almost halfway through the book but the story still wasn't going anywhere (but it still received a high rating because the second half was so good).


However, I felt that the conclusion to the whole conflict between the opposing parties felt a bit underwhelming, perhaps adding on to that was the fact that I experienced this book via mixed media and when listening to the audiobook I would get very confused because it ended like that?? (Then I had to read the Ebook again to understand a second time). Furthermore, the ending of the book itself felt a little weird for me as the author was tying up loose ends in the story.


I knew going in to this series about Laini Taylor's flowery writing, and I highly believe it is my own fault that I was a little confused because I skipped over some flowery parts. Then, something would happen and I'd be like "When did this happen?" and then go Google only to end up getting spoiled LOL and THEN the explanation for what happened will be explained in the book later on. So yes, be warned about the flowery writing.



SPOILER AHEAD:






That said, I really appreciated the character development for Liraz and Ziri, and still ship Zuzana and Mik immensely. The fact that I don't really ship the main couple as much as I do the side couples (given how much time we have with the main couple) is already a sign that this series won't be my new favorite, but it definitely was a great reading experience.

bottom of page